Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Legal help student flat contract

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey I'm a final year student living at home.

I'm planning to do a masters next year (have put one app in) and need to put one more (2 similar courses).

Basically I'm moving into a flat with my gf this sept and am about to sign the tenancy agreement tomorrow.

The only thing is that the paperwork requires me to state if I'm a student or not... technically I am now and (hopefully will be) by sept. The estate agents do student and professional lettings - I need to check which the property we are moving into is.

Basically, (regardless which it is) if I signed the contract tomorrow and stated that I was a student, which should still be true by sept, where do I stand legally if I don't get onto a masters. Would it be classed as fraud? I mean I'd want to take the flat even if i have to get a job next year, it's more that if I sign the contract, could they say I breached it (in the event I don't get onto a course). If so I'd still be obliged to pay the years rent but they might not let me live in the property. Is that right?

Help please

Comments

• Options