Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Stammering

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hey im a new member here so i apologise in advance if i dont post correctly!

This is a question mostly for guys, between the ages 17-22 if poss
I am a university student aged 19, i have embarrassingly never had a boyfriend or even been on a date. but the thing is, is a have a mild stutter, where sometimes i struggle saying my name. This knocks my confidence alot.
I guess what im saying is, would a girl having a stutter bother you? would you be embarrassed by it ? Would u date a stutterer? And how do i go about talking to guys for the first time, when stuttering?

I would be really grateful for your responses. Thank you. xx

Comments

• Options
    Nah i sometimes stutter or have trouble wording and i end up getting a mind block.. i just work round it no one seems to mind :P
  • Options
    i occationally have a stutter, and its getting worse. but no one notices it, and its only me that gets pissed off with it.

just don't get stressed out by it and take a deep breath before saying things
  • Options
    Well from my experience, relationships are very complicated and take a lot of things to be right for them to work. So i would personally see a stutter as a very very small thing if i liked other things about the person.
  • Options
    Jeni wrote: »

I am a university student aged 19, i have embarrassingly never had a boyfriend or even been on a date. but the thing is, is a have a mild stutter, where sometimes i struggle saying my name. This knocks my confidence alot.
    I guess what im saying is, would a girl having a stutter bother you? would you be embarrassed by it ? Would u date a stutterer? And how do i go about talking to guys for the first time, when stuttering?

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest. :)
  • Options