Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Unions

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Do you belong to one? (If so, which one)?

And have you ever made use of being in one?

I work in retail. At the moment I'm off sick but from what I've heard from the other staff it sounds like things are really bad there because of decitions that head-office have been making recently. I'm really not looking forward to going back. :yeees:
The jist of it is, we're so short staffed that the first floor of the shop has had to be closed off several times because there's not enough staff to run it as well as downstairs; the management team have had to act as sales advisors some of the time; they're not allowed to cover sick leave, maternity, holidays etc etc and not allowed to employ any more people. When I started working there 2 years ago there were just over 40 members of staff. There's now half of that, with the same amount of work to be done.
My job is running the shoe department (which is upstairs, along with two other departments). Previously my manager's line on things was that there should always be two people up there at all times... But aparently when it has been open to the public there's only been one member of staff manning the whole floor by themselves and I'm really not looking forward to going back and having to do all the work by myself.

As I see it things can't go on the way they are... either head-office are going to have to admit they're not doing as well as they're trying to make out, and possibly start store closures or everyone's going to leave anyway because we're being treated like crap.

Would it be worth me joining a union?

Comments

• Options
    Personally I cant stand unions. So no I haven't joined a union nor do I intend to.

I am from the McDonald's school of thought regarding unionisation. Not for me.