Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

What should I do??

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm currently studying abroad. Two months ago, one of my guy friends confessed that he liked me. I hadn't thought about him in that way before, but when I considered it, I felt like it would be nice to have a relationship with him. He's a nice guy, very sweet and kind of shy.

I spoke to him after thinking things through and said, "If you still feel that way about me, maybe we should see where this goes". He said he was confused and had to sort out a few things as well. He also mentioned that he wasn't looking for something too serious. I said that I felt the same way.

I left him some time to think about it and after the two weeks he still hadn't said anything about that topic to me and it seemed like he was trying to avoid me. So the next time I got a chance to talk to him, I asked him if he'd thought about things. He said he had thought about it and decided that it was best to not start anything, because I'll be leaving at the end of the year (in May) and he couldn't see a way to make that work. He said that I was a really great person as well, and that we should just stay good friends.

I said okay at the time, but inside I felt differently. I had really started to like him and the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to dispute his reason for not wanting to start anything. Especially since he was the one who said earlier he didn't want anything serious. Did he just say that to figure out what I wanted? Or had he seriously reconsidered things since then? Or is he just too shy or scared to start something?

I decided to let it rest over Christmas, but now that we're back at uni and our exams are over, I still feel like I really like him a lot.

Should I let him know how I feel, or just let things go?