Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Pgce

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I am thinking of applying for one for September 2009.

I was wondering if anybody has completed this... I have heard that it's very intensive, so I won't be able to have a job to support myself. However, I don't know if I could afford to do it then.

What does the course entail?

If I studied citizenship, would it be harded to get a job? How about if I combined it with say... English?

Is further education really hard to get in to?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    I can't comment on job prospects with citizenship or anything like that as I don't know what secondary is like.

I can comment on the PGCE though, as that's what I did. And you are right - it is very intense and very much a full time course. I don't know anyone who kept a part time job while doing the course. You will be knackered for 9 months and not be able to think of anything else.

With regards to money, you will be eligible for a student loan and possibly a grant. I know that some secondary subjects and primary give out bursaries, but you would need to check whether citizenship is one of them.

Check out the TDA website. You'll find all the info you need on there :)
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hey,