Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Help me with my maths please!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello lovely brainy people. Help me work out how much it will cost me to drive home this xmas, my poor brain just gets confused!

The journey is 300 miles

I don't know my ka's exact consumption but from google searches we'll say about 43mpg (I think will do more but we'll play safe)

Assume petrol is £1 per litre although I bet it goes up HUMONGOUSLY before Christams

There is 0.22 gallons per litre

Eh i don't even know where to start timsing and dividing

And before you all say how shocking it is that i can't do simple maths - I know it's terrible but I'm not thick I have a DEGREE I just can't understand numbers for the life of me, they all start to look the same and my head gets confuddled :(

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Ok. I doubt you would see 43mpg out of your Ka for the whole journey. Quoted values range around 42-48 but those are from the manufacturer and not likely to be reflected in real life. So say around 36 for caution. So google tells us that 36 miles per gallon = 7.91888967 miles per litre. So if you have to drive 300 miles that's 300 / 7.9 which is 37.9 so say 38 litres. The tank capacity of a Ka is 40 litres, so you'll need to fill up somewhere along the way unless you're lucky, and the journey will cost you 1 tank of petrol or 40 quid each way.
    Mist wrote: »