Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Banker FUCKS still getting £2.5bn bonuses!

124»

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Calm down calm down.

They have a point though, if you get a place for £750k on a £100k mortgage you're borrowing 7.5 times your income. That's not really good practice :/ I'm not a financial expert but you only need to do the maths.

I think as a rule of thumb you should borrow up to about 3.5 times your income, obviously a bit more if there's two of you. But I don't know if I'm missing your point.

Where I live you can get a semi detatched house for ~ £80k :d
    ShyBoy wrote: »
    They have a point though, if you get a place for £750k on a £100k mortgage you're borrowing 7.5 times your income. That's not really good practice :/ I'm not a financial expert but you only need to do the maths.
    Mate, bad maths!! Its unlikely a £750k 3-bed house will be the first property you buy, you may have a 2 bed apartment first, so you sell that, make £400k, put £350k of it down as deposit and voila there's a 4x mortgage. Anyway yeah, just note these days you put down at least 10%, and more like 20% down as deposit, and I think many can live comfortably getting a 4-4.5x not 3.5x mortgage.
    Well it changes depending on the mortgage companies it used to be just 2-3x as far as I know. You do make a good point about just building on the equity you have but it's kind of dependant on you paying off your first mortgage first..
    ShyBoy wrote: »
    Well it changes depending on the mortgage companies it used to be just 2-3x as far as I know.
    Wow, I got 5.8x 18mths ago. From... Northern Rock, hahaha
    dunc2008 wrote: »