Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Not sure how to help my friend

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
First off, apologies for the length...I'm not very good at keeping things brief.
OK. Talking with a friend last night, she told me about some problems she was having in her relationship and I really didn't know how to help so thought I'd pass it over to you guys...
Basically she lives with her boyfriend in a rented house, they've been together for about 5 years now I think. Their relationship's generally been OK although not without its share of problems - they broke up a few years back but got back together after almost a year apart, this was about two years ago now.
Anyway recently she's been saying things haven't been so great between them, they've been having to work quite hard to sort out problems they've had (nothing majorly serious, but she's got some self-esteem issues and tends to take them out on him and to me it's seemed like he's been taking her for granted quite a lot lately). However they're quite good at communicating when something's wrong and have been trying to make things better.