Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

What the fook is 'admin'?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I work in retail, which isn't exactly the best place to be right now. So many people seem to find it easy to get jobs in 'admin', but what exactly are these jobs? Who are all the people who teem out of offices at 5pm in their smart suits and shiny shoes, and what do they do all day?

I try putting 'admin' into the search engines of these job sites, and it just seems to bring up either 'purchase ledger' (for which you seem to need dozens of years experience or a degree) or 'secretarial' or 'receptionist', well I'm never gonna be able to be either of them, despite the legistlation, I still think that companies want pretty girls on reception or as secretaries not an ugly goon like me, even if I know what I'm doing.

What are the types of 'admin' you can easily get into from a retail background, and what are the best job sites to find these jobs?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Admin covers a wide range from basic filing crap to more intense stuff. As for where to look. Probably the job centre.
    Hey there :wave:

Tweety is right. ‘Admin’ is a really general term that covers a massive range of skills and possible responsibilities. A lot of what secretaries and receptionists do is classed as admin. For example, day to day paperwork, filing, photocopying, answering phones, writing letters and emails, organising the running of an office – so things like ordering stationery and booking travel for other members of staff.