Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

help...in a crap situation, need advice

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
really needing some advice as at the moment im in a pretty rotten situation which is doing my head in. basically i graduated as a primary teacher last year and finished my probation year (you get given a job for a year after you graduate but are still mentored and stuff) in june and am now in the same place as loads of other teachers - no job (teaching jobs are ridiculously thin on the ground in scotland, dunno about anywhere else), on the supply teaching list, waiting to hear about work and getting nothing.

i still live with my parents and with my "sitting about" all summer and now the schools have gone back, they are getting anxious. they keep pressing me to get a job, a "normal" job in a shop or office or something, as i need money coming in (most importantly they need their dig money :rolleyes: ). i do agree with them though, i need a job and need money coming in.

however, im reluctant to get a "normal" job right away, im on the supply list and will be sending out letters to schools to let them know i am available. and though its rubbish waiting, i feel that (and have read on teaching forums) that the best way into getting a job is through supply work - the school gets to know you, you get long term supply, a job comes up in the school etc. so im inclined to hold off getting a "normal" job for a few more weeks yet, i want to see what happens with the supply situation.

im getting awful pressure from my parents though. what would folk advise? i just bite the bullet and get a "normal" job and wait to see what teaching jobs come up? or wait and see what happens on the supply list (and get into major grief with my parents?) ?