Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Deliveries at work

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Is it ok to get a personal delivery to your workplace. Im never at home when the postman comes around and it wont fit through the letter box.

Im pretty new to the job so dont wanna be seen to be taking the piss.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Just ask your post room if it is ok. Everyone at my work does.
    I do it at my place, just ask ur line manager
    Depends how big your company is i'd say. If its like a massive business that has its own post sorting department then its probably not a good idea, but if its just a small/medium sized company where you could actually sign for it yourself i reckon it'd be fine. any boss with common sense could see the reasoning behind it and it would hardly take out a big portion of your day
    Yeah its a big company. They have a postroom guy who comes around, he usually brings me letters and crap (work related).

Might be worth having them deliver to work.
    Just have a word then before it comes so the post guy can know to look out for it
    When i bought and sold a lot of wii's over xmas, i had them delivered to work, i even had the parcel force van that picked works mail up every other day, pick them up when i was shipping them out.

I get stuff delivered to work all the time, they just give me a ring on the internal phones when they spot something with my name on.

Especially if its something that needs to be signed for, as my mum has problems with her nerves and doesnt like answering the door if shes in on her own.
    Ask you line manager first but most places dont have a problem with it.