Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Uni Transition To Working World

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Just graduated and gone straight into a part time job. Retail, which I find rather dull. I am doing a sort of gap year or two I have decided now I have finished trying out different things, taking up new ones I have been meaning to but managing to have this bit of money on the side so I can go out etc and save for a bit of travelling as I am living with my family again.
Panicking a bit about getting into a work area that I actually enjoy and find stimulating. That being Arts related. I studied Fine Art at uni, which I have taken a break from for a bit but am looking to start again in my free time. Finding it really hard to find a related job though. Have applied to galleries in the past, but had no responses am finding it tough to get anywhere with that sort of thing. Don't reckon I can last much longer in my zombified job.
I never particularly wanted to go to uni, but I got through it in the end and I guess in reality I am glad I did. Now feels so strange that I have finished! My life has suddenly flipped, kind of exciting in one way but sometimes just wonder what to do next. SO many different directions I could go i n. Is hard to choose.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Right there with ya, except I graduated a year ago! Thinking about going back to university but I won't be able to afford it until 2009 and in any case I don't really know what I want to do! In the meantime settling down and starting a family are having to be put on hold, probably for a lot longer than I'd like while I find a career I'm happy in. Sucks