Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Career change/Retraining and age

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm not really sure where this is going, but think it might be helpful to get it off my chest before my head pops.

I've hated my job for ages, but I've come to the conclusion this week that it's not just my job I hate, but the entire industry, and all my future career prospects are along the same route, and from here they're looking pretty gloomy. Since I graduated I've had a couple of jobs in copywriting and editing, and I applied for them because I knew I could do them, rather than because I wanted to do them, which doesn't really make for much job satisfaction.

There are a couple of things I'd really like to do (at least I think I would, I'm so fed up at the moment that anything sounds good), but they'd mean starting again from scratch. And I don't mean applying for junior jobs scratch, I mean first year of uni scratch. I know I wouldn't exactly be the most mature of mature students, but it's still quite an unnerving prospect. I'd be 30/31 at the earliest when I qualified, and it's not that that's old, it's just a dodgy age for me. I'd probably have to work a couple of years to get my foot in the door before thinking about kids, but would that be too late? I planned to have them before then. Might it be a better idea to trudge along in a crappy job, pop out a wee family and THEN retrain? I don't know.

And there's the money issue. I'm not exactly flush at the minute, but how would I feel about going back onto a student's income? Argh, I don't know.

I'm not really sure what I wanted to come of this. Just wanted to get it out, I think. Has anyone else totally retrained at my age? Or any thoughts? I don't know, I'm just fed up, and I guess I kind of feel a bit trapped.

Comments