Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

i'm confused

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm studying btec sports and exercise science. I want to get into journalism (preferably sports journalism). I want to know if I should start a course which offers an NCTJ or a degree in journalism. As I want to know which one is preferred by employers. Any help would be appreciated.

I would love the help
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Olly_BOlly_B Posts: 222 Trailblazer
    Hi Matt,

As a journalist and someone who has recruited journalists; the most important thing most employers are interested in is your ability to find and tell good stories. What will usually make or break your chances is having a good cuttings folder of great stories... whether they are published in your college newspaper, a local freesheet or even on the web.

That's not to say that doing a degree in journalism isn't valuable, and NTCJ courses are well regarded, but you can have all the qualifications in the world but without demonstrating your abilities and enthusiasm you won't get particularly far. So if you choose to go to university do a degree that you are really interested in and then use the opportunity to develop your journalism at a student newspaper/radio station.

BTW, have you seen this?
    http://vbulletin.thesite.org/showthread.php?t=127159

All the best,

Olly
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru