Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Claiming tax back

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm a student and have two jobs... I have paid a lot of tax which I've been told I can get back.

I have both P60s and have been told I need to write to them and send the P60s to Inland Revenue...

Is this true?

I need to know the exact procedure as I can't afford to loose this cash.

Also, how long will it take for the money to make it to my account? I am struggling desperately and my university can't offer financial help.

Comments

• Options
    http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/incometax/overpaid-thro-job.htm

Yup, you just write to your nearest tax office (can find the address via that link), including your original P60s and wait. Not sure how long it takes, sorry.
  • Options
    http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/incometax/overpaid-thro-job.htm

Yup, you just write to your nearest tax office (can find the address via that link), including your original P60s and wait. Not sure how long it takes, sorry.
    What do you say in the letter?
  • Options
    Dear Taxman,

I'm a student and have been charged tax for this year 07/08. I do not earn over the minimum earnings threshol and as such I would like to apply for my tax to be returned.

Please find enclosed my P60s as evidence of this.

SEND ME MY MONEYS :mad:

Yours Kindly,
    Namaste :)
  • Options
    ShyBoy wrote: »
    Dear Taxman,

I'm a student and have been charged tax for this year 07/08. I do not earn over the minimum earnings threshol and as such I would like to apply for my tax to be returned.

Please find enclosed my P60s as evidence of this.

SEND ME MY MONEYS :mad:

Yours Kindly,
    Namaste :)

What, is that it? Seriously?

How long will it take for the cash to come through?