Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Splitting up and buying me out

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello,

Me and my partner have just recently split up and he is planning on buying me out of the house. We have had the house valued and he is currently talking to a financial advisor to see how much he should give me. I know I am entitled to half the equity in the house but I am not sure if I am entitled to anything else. It seems unfair that I will now have to buy and pay for solicitors fees etc and he won't!

Should I be asking for anything else financially? I am letting him have the furniture but he will be offering me a pay out for that too.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Well I'm not an expert on this, all I know is from my partner being in the same process. The mortgage company will charge you a fee for putting it solely in his name which is likely to be a few hundred, so you need to decide who is going to pay for that or if you will split it between you.

My partner and his ex each had to have solicitors because they couldn't communcate with one another at all but the only time a solicitor was actually *required* in the process (as I understand it) was for my partner to have his identification verified by the solicitor, and his solicitor was going to charge abou5 £500 to supervise the transfer but again I'm not sure that is *required*. I would imagine he will definitely need access to a solicitor (although I could be wrong) and you may need access to one, in which case it seems you should both be responsible for paying your own legal fees and chances are he may incur more fees than you.

Anyway I'm sure someone more in the know will come along and advise you about it but basically I think you will both incur fees and I don't think he is obliged to pay yours.
  • Options