Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Penniless - Need help urgent

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Is there any way my university can give me a bit of cash to help me out with my rent?

Our bills are so high and the way it seems I won't be able to afford to pay the next rent.

I already work two jobs and don't really know if I should take on a third, as after tax I probably won't have much more cash anyway. I am also in my final year, I have difficulty keeping up with the study load with my jobs as it is.

My family situation has changed since my (ex)stepdad fucked us all over. Now my Mum is earning roughly 15,000 per year, plus paying a mortgage and supporting my brother.

She normally helps me with £50 per month, but I know she won't be able to afford it any more. Either way, my student loan is smaller this year too.

Do universities offer any financial support for financially hard up people?

Can my LEA give me a bigger loan now my financial situation has changed?

Any advice would be welcome, as I'm struggling a bit.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yes, if your situation like that changes you should be able to contact your LEA and they will arrange for your loan to alter accordingly. Your uni should also have a hardship fund :)
    I'm sure most universities have some kind of hardship fund that you can use when and if your financial situation changes.

I would speak to your student support/finance centre and see what they recommend. Have you applied for grants or bursaries previously?