Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

PhD or Graduate Job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
First off, hello all, I've not been here in a long time...

However, it seems I have a difficult decision to make in the coming weeks regarding my future career options, so thought I'd come ask for some opinions :)

I started my first "proper job" about 3 months ago, after finishing an MSc up in manchester, (prior to that I obtained a BSc elsewhere). I work as a software engineer doing web developement, c# .NET SQL, that sorta thing.

last week, my uni supervisor phoned me and offered me the opportunity to do a (fully funded) PhD, and I have no idea which would be the best option to take... And whilst I appreciate that I am in a very fortunate position here, it doesnt make the decision any easier!

my current job is on a decent graduate wage, the staff are nice, it's a small company, and with a couple years experience I could get a decent paid job in most parts of the country... I'm also currently living at home. oh, and I dont dislike the job either, it's pretty interesting.

however, the PhD would involve being ahead of the game as it were, researching cool new stuff, and being paid a similar amount to what I get now to do so.

Problem is though, I have no idea which of these two options will give me the better career aspects. :no: and also, manchester is a long way from anyone I know and I got pretty lonely up there last time I was there for one year, never mind 4...

argh, help? :confused:

Comments

• Options
    if i was you, i'd jump at the PhD no questions asked. but only if you felt you could deal with the distance.
  • Options
    For career prospects as far as I'm aware the experience tends to be seen more highly. But it really depends on what you want to do and the field of expertise.
  • Options