Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

HMO Issues

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
My 2 flatmate's and I have been renting our flat for almost 8 months now and every month something new breaks, we were shown the flat by the previous tennents and when we asked them about the HMO license they said "well she hasn't said anything but we are assuming there is one", I guess it was our failing not looking into it further but we really loved the flat and decided to take it.
We started to suspect something dodgy was going on when we asked for fire alarms only to be told that none of the previous tennents had asked and so if we wanted any we would have to get them ourselves, we had already signed the contract by this point (which we still don't have a copy of, apparently she "forgets" every time she comes around) and we really love the flat so we didn't argue and just bought our own fire safety equipment as we thought she is the type of woman who would just put all our stuff out on the street if we made her life difficult.
As the months wore on we realised there was something really not right for example we would arrive home and know that someone had been in our flat or she would arrive unannounced, ring the doorbell and be letting herself in before we even had a chance to get up to answer it.