Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Uni Stress

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hi, i'm new to this, but kinda need a listener. Basically i started university sept 07 and found it fun and new and exciting, i made friends easily and had no problems. However, since january exams i seem to have lost all desire to get the degree, i've been very stressed and anxious and i dont know why. i havent been sleeping or eating very well, been getting stomach aches and headaches and had a couple of panic attacks (one during badminton tornament which was embarassing). i do not know what has brought this on at all. I thought maybe homesickness as i have gone to uni far from home (durham university from poole) but i have no real desire to go home especially, and i was fine before xmas. I just dont know whats wrong with me. Can anyone explain, or has anyone else felt like this?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    The symptoms sound like you're a bit depressed and suffering from sort of strange separation anxiety. University is a massive change in anybody's life, that's a well known fact, and sometimes it can manifest a little later than expected for many different reasons. I still get a bit funny when I realise I'm technically a grown up now and have to make my own way in the world.

I'd advise speaking to your student health department or speaking to a doctor about your systems. Try and find out the root cause of the problem (like this) and see how you can fix it. Maybe speak to your course tutors as well if it's affecting your work.