Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Police cautions and the legal profession

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi, I need some advice and help. I'm currently studying for a law degree and am in my final year. However, about 2 and a half years ago i was given a formal caution for travelling with a child travelcard. I thought there was a fine system in place but oh well. The police told me they were doing their annual run of trying to prosecute everyone they could find. Ironically, i was on my way to uni that day. However now, i have to apply for student membership with the Law Society (to become a solicitor) as you have to apply before you start your LPC. Im really worried they will reject me. I have so much regret over what happened, and i think i fell below the standards expected of me because my dad had been admitted into hospital the week earlier because of risk of heart attack. I'm really upset and i've worked so hard at university and stuff. I don't want it to go to waste. I've even done a lot of voluntary work, e.g, im a witness service volunteer - i work at the crown court!

But, what if the Law Society think im dishonest? As theyre trying to prevent dishonest people from entering the profession. Am i a threat to the public image of the legal profession? Would i be?

Does anyone know of anyone or anything that's happened. I know there are lawyers who have convictions for drink driving/public order and stuff. But is what i did really bad? I know it is caution, but still? By the time i am admitted to the roll (after the lpc and training contract) it will have been 6 years since the caution, probably longer if i do not find a training contract immediately.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    star2858 wrote: »