Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Temporary stopping Jobs seeker's allowance

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Question: I finished a Master's degree at the end of september. I was unsuccessful in finding work straight after and have been looking, applying, going to fairs, and slow bureaucratic application processes am still waiting for one interview promised.

I'm on JSA and a family friend has asked me to assist him with restarting his insurance business for 3-4 weeks. He's had cancer the past 3 years and finally has the energy It's over most of December and first week of Jan where if nothing has happened on the job search by then I don't expect much to happen over xmas. However, it's in New York and pay would be room, food and flight.

I'd expect to go off JSA until I get back, but I'm unsure about discussing this with the adviser. It's not exactly voluntary, it's not going to give me a P45, if I work abroad would I lose future right to claim by being a 'non-dom'? Would I have to resign on? Would that be a problem as it'll be the second time in 6 months? What's the best way to approach the situation?

Hopefully, I'll have a job lined up here by then but I need to work this out as I don't want to possibly screwing myself in January.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Don't you have to sign on every 2 weeks with jsa anyway? So if you can't do that then you would lose entitlement anyway. Unless you tell them you're going on holiday for a few weeks. They would probably ask you to prove it but that way you might be able to keep it up. Or just restart it with that fast track thing when you get back.
    Yes you would have to sign off temporarily, but you should be able to do a rapid reclaim. Ask your advisor.

Where do you live? Can't you find any sort of work?