Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Parking issues

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
This is more of a moan than anything, I guess people will say there isn't a lot I can do!

Basically I am an MA student who commutes into London for uni twice a week. Now I am in the process of moving in with my partner who owns a house in Bedford but works abroad for 9 months of the year, so he isn't home at the moment.

My savings paid for my tuition fees and I have a part-time job in Bedford, which involves driving. The job just about covers travel, food and some bills, but I am living in minus figures and will be until I start working.

Where I am at the moment in Kent I park on a residential street when I go to uni a couple of days a week because it would cost between £7-10 a week to park in the station car park. I've never had any problems parking there, all fine.

However, where I am moving to there is a residential street near the train station that has unrestricted parking. The road is practically empty most times of the day and a lot of residents have their own drives and garages, so a couple of times when I've been staying at my partner's house I've parked down there.

The first time I parked there a woman next door to the house I'd parked outside followed me up the road and told me quite aggressively that if I left my car there, her husband would block me in and I wouldn't be able to get out when I returned. I thought it was a bit odd of her but just shrugged it off and moved my car.