Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Cited As A Witness

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm hoping I can get some advice to ease my mind & concerns with the following.

I work in retail. A guy attempted to steal from us and I was one of two people who witnessed this. I am one of two people who are cited as a witness to this. It wasn't a straightforward theft but rather an attempted deceit to obtain the goods. That is my explanation of it anyway I might not be explaining it right.

I've worked in retail 6 years now and fortunately have only ever had to attend a Sheriff Court once in the passed and in that case the person didn't turn up and we were told to leave.

My main concern is my memory from the occasion, and so my main question is am I allowed access to my witness statement I gave to the police officer at the time ? I have a second reason for asking this also which I won't mention at the moment.

Another question I have is what is the correct dress code to wear ? The booklet I was mailed with the citation as I recall it didn't mention anything about dress code and as I cannot locate it at the moment I can't double check.

I'm not one for worrying or feeling nervous but I have to admit this whole thing with it being only days away is a concern for me, it really is worrying me.

Just looking for a bit of reassurance & advice really as I said at the top. Thanks :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Scottish law etc is slightly different from English, and I'm no expert on that, but can help on the dress code front.