Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

current accounts and benefits...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
ok sort of a 2 in one thing here.....

once i turn 18, i no longer recieve payments from social services, and have to apply to the DSS for income support, and i should also be getting DLA (i've been told i am elegable)...i'm a full time student who lives on my own, don't have student loan (in second year of college), can i get housing benefit and such as well? and i will have a part time job in a months time...though only 16 hours tops...can i still get benefits?

and i need to find myself a good current account which will allow me a small overdraft (£150 or something of the such) and a switch card...i don't want a credit card, only a debit card...any ideas?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I have a current account with Lloyds TSB. I have a debit card, but don't have a overdraft; but can apply for one if I want to.
    Most banks will allow you to open a "basic bank account", which will not give you an overdraft (you don't want one, trust me) or a cheque book, but will give you a cash machine card. There's no credit scoring, and the bank cannot refuse to give you one unless you have a history of fraud or are bankrupt. Halifax are quite good, I believe, and will offer a Visa Electron card, which is a basic debit card.

As for the benefits, the rules on people leaving LA care are quite different to the rules for everyone else, so I'll need to go and get my trusty CPAG book from work to tell you. That's especially the case for housing benefit.