Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

I hate suspense

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Ok, so several weeks ago, called uni about accommodation, basically there was a muck up and I hadn't been informed that even though I was returned as a first year student I'm not eligible for first year accommodation.. so the manager guy said sorry and bumped me to the top of the waiting list and said that I had a good chance of getting uni accommodation now, but it wasn't guaranteed. Fair enough.

Two weeks ago, called them up to see if anything was happening yet, they said they were running behind allocating first years. Last Thursday, called again, clueless lady said 'errr no spaces if you're not a first year', I explained I'd been in correspondence with the manager, so she went 'oh', I spoke to him and he said he's finished the main body of them but he's got a couple left who've applied late, and if I could wait until Monday that would be brilliant.

So, emailed him 10:30 this morning, no reply. Emailed again 2.45, no reply. Called just now, no answer on phone. Called the office, sheepish lady said sorry he's out of office, was apologetic for some reason? (I'm not guaranteed accommodation so she doesn't 'owe' me anything, but maybe my name has got round the office?)

So now I've got to wait until tomorrow, and even then I might have to go into private accommodation (not arranged as yet as they all want me to sign a 12 month lease which I'm not going to do in case I get campus accommodation), and I'm supposed to be leaving on Sunday!

I think I might have a glass of red. Anyone fancy joining me?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru