Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Final year dissertation

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
:eek: :nervous: ....ok havent got a clue what to do it on!im a third year psychology student and if there is anyone who could give me a few links of how to go about starting it or even ideas on what to do it on it would be much appreciated!
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    surely your uni have given you some advice on this?
    Do you not have a project supervisor who you can discuss your ideas with? At our uni we were given a long long list of supervisors and possible areas of investigation they would be willing to supervise. Otherwise, you could try looking over some past work you've done, picking out studies that interest you and then thinking of how you could design a study that is easily testable based on/improving on those studies. Good luck.
    we where told to pick a study advisor but only if we had an idea of a topic to cover...and a plan on how we could do about doing it...basically im just confused about what area i should go into....perhaps i should go to a career guidance counseller but would they know enough about psychology or would it be like them reading out a perspectous to you???
    No I don't think a career's counsellor would be of much use at all, is there not someone within the department you can discuss this with?

Obviously you have a lot of different areas of psychology so pick ones that you feel you could do well writing about, and that are easily testable (eg. things within the area of cognition might be quite easy to test, whereas stuff to do with child or adult clinical psychology is likely to be more difficult).