Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Controlling boyfriend

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
hey i'm new to this. sorry if this sounds stupid but i really need some advice. i've been with my partner for almost a year, we've been through so much together and i really do love him, however aswell as having a really loving side to his personality, he has a controlling side too.

friends - whenever i ask to go out with my friends for a whole day/night he gets really tetchy about it, saying that it's not fair on him as he has no friends to meet anymore because i have 'taken them away from him' (immature much?) i'm forever persuading him to get in contact with old friends but he shuns my suggestions every time. throughout our whole relationship i have spent 1 or 2 days in total with my friends alone (not including going to college and having days in) he always tell me i have to tell him a few days in advance if i am seeing my friends, and when i get to the night before seeing them, he'll make me feel guilty about going out. he says when we go out for a drink, i embarrass him infront of his mates because i am loud and all the rest of it, these happen to be the friends who i have introduced him to who say they love to go drinking with me and all that.