Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Driving

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
For anyone who's a new driver, or who's been driving for a while for that matter, does driving ever freak you out? I've been driving for a few months, but I drive a lot because we live in the middle of nowhere, and I've had one near-miss in that time, and it completely freaked me out. Mainly because it was my fault, and it shook me up, but it made me realise how much expensive damage I could do :nervous: I also managed to curb my car today, which took a chunk out of the tyre and so I need to buy a new one. It's difficult to explain, but I sometimes feel as if driving a car is too much responsibility for me. I've got a fairly good car too, and I'm so worried about damaging it. Does anyone else feel like this? Or is it just because I'm new to driving? I probably just need more confidence.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I feel like that in my lessons, i've had people overtake me on sharp corners only to have a lorry pulling out just around it and taking up the whole road. I'd be lost without my instructor and his dual controls. Saying that though I'm not sure how much he's still helping me out. It's the decision making i find difficult. Or i'll forget certain rules etc. My mind goes blank.
    sometimes i can think 'oh fuck i could easily be wiped out or wipe someone else out'

like sometimes driving up over the backroads and im goin up one side of this little country lane in my wee motor and theres a big fuck off lorry bombing down the road on the other side and i'll get a shiver up my spine just thinking of what could happen he was to lose control and swerve into me or something :nervous:

but the majority of the time id be your cocky over confident driver .. like a lot of males tend to be