Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Student loans - paying them back

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Ok..so I graduated this year, and I had the full student loan for 2 of my 3 years at uni.

What happens in terms of paying it back? I know you only start paying it back when you're earning a certain salary, but how much do they take each month etc and when does it start - do I need to ring the student loan company and organise it?

Thanks for any advice :)
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    can't remember exactly, but if you're employed it comes off through your payroll and is automatic. If you're self employed you have to sort out paying it back yourself. The earning limit is 15k? 18k?
  • Options
    katralla wrote: »
    can't remember exactly, but if you're employed it comes off through your payroll and is automatic. If you're self employed you have to sort out paying it back yourself. The earning limit is 15k? 18k?

£15k

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/EducationAndLearning/UniversityAndHigherEducation/StudentFinance/RepayingStudentLoansCoursesStartingFrom1998/DG_10034866 might be of some use to you.
  • Options
    Katralla is right. In your in employment being payed by the PAYE scheme. Then once you earn over £15K a year you get deducted at 9% off anything paid over that (I did an example somewhere in Work/Study a week or two ago if you want an idea of monthly repayments). The payments are deducted monthly from your gross pay and your employer will pay and report the figures to the Inland Revenue to report to the student loans compmany. The IR will tell your employer when to start and stop making payments once it knows you are earning over the threashold.