Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Jobs on CV

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
When you send off a CV to a company, do you put the majority of the jobs you've had or just the relevant ones?

As a graduate, I've had random summer jobs which are all pretty different. I seem to remember the careers centre telling us to put the relevant employment first then the other employment, but if you haven't really done much relevant work then this is a bit hard!

For example, if I was applying for a job in marketing, then would it be a waste of time putting my most recent employment as a teaching assistant or a care worker if that's what it was? Generally most of my jobs have been administration work, but I've done a variety of things.

Just looking for some advice really...thanks :)

Comments

• SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit
    Your supposed to put all your work history really I think, and explain any gaps in employment too.
    Weekender Offender 
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I'd put down all the jobs you have done - if they are like proper jobs - i.e. working in an office - being a teaching assistant etc etc.

I'd only not include a job if its really not in anyway relevant - for example when I was 15 I handed out leaflets for my friends dad one summer - so I don't really bother to put that down - for jobs I apply to now - but when I was at university I would do and then make what I had done more exciting and show how you developed your skills. So for example i was standing on a street corner so oftne people would come up and ask me random questions so that demonstrated I could be polite and curteous and also able to think outside the box (sometimes people even asked me in different languageds as well).