Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Why do people take drugs?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello,
I'm a student of sociology trying to understand why young people take drugs as part of my desertation.
I'm not interested in who you are, I would just like some idea of why people take drugs or why you think they take drugs. Things like:
-meanings taking drugs have to people that take them
-when they take them, e.g. at home or outin a club.
-why they take them then, e.g. peer pressure, to enhance social abilities, etc.
Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Ok Meanings taking drugs has for me...

None really, it's just a way of having fun

When I take them...

Take drugs mainly when I'm outside with mates. usually dope, pills, coke or acid, when I was on harder drugs they would be taken indoors generally on my own.
    Do pills or coke when I'm out in pubs/clubs/concerts, but usually drink nowadays.
    Basically there is no set time to do drugs I prefer just doing em when I need something to do, some people go shopping I take a few pills or trip. Just something that I find fun to do.

Why I take them...

Well I wouldn't say it was peer pressure, first time I smoked no1 else did, just nicked a cig of my nan, first time I did drugs was when I bought some dope of some1 a couple of years above me at school... no1 outta my friends new I did it, but they all started smoking after me...
    It was more as an experiment, just trying out new things and I liked them so kept doing them.

Hope it helps.... n e more info just ask

[This message has been edited by Daze (edited 22-08-2000).]
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply.