Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Just need a bit of reassurance i think...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Right, well here goes, As you can see I am pretty new to this but i have been reading on this forums for a little while.
Well, i am 16, i am like a "regular sixteen year old" and my mates have all starting getting girlfriends and having sex, and i know how you shouldnt worry about having sex as soon as your 16, but at the moment now nearly all of my friends have done, i feel kinda left out. If the discussion ever turns to sex, they ignore anything i say. They don't ever say any nasty comments back which i suppose is what i am grateful for. But it feels like i am not worthy to be their friends because i hav'nt done it.
thanks for your time any responces will be aappreciated.

Comments

• Options
    I wouldn't let it get to you mate, the important thing about sex (and relationships in general) is that you should do it when you feel comfortable and with someone who you feel comfortable to do it with.

Your mates can pass comment all they want, but at the end of the day it's your life so what you want to do that matters so fuck what they think. If they've got a problem with it then it'll be them walking about with the chip on their shoulder, not you.

Good attitude though, wish I was that mature when I was 16!
  • Options
    Hey, it might be at age 16 if you haven't had sex it's the 'be all and end all' to the rest of your mates. But unfortunately because lads are at this stupid age where hormones are running around the place and getting a girl into bed and bragging about it is a priority.

You are not losing your worth because you've not slept with someone yet. I didn't sleep with anyone until I was 17, nor have my first proper boyfriend until then.