Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Email Scam!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Okay, just got an email...

FROM: MR MOHAMED BUBA CREDIT BANK BENINOUAGADOUGOU-BURKINA FASO Dear Friend, This message might meet you in utmost surprise however,it's just my urgentneed for a foreign partner that made me contact you for this transaction.I am a banker by profession from ouagadougou-Burkina faso in west Africa and currently holding the post of Foreign Remmittance Manager in our bankBurkina Faso office .

blah blah blah...

Obviously i have no intention to start handing over any account details etc...

But is there any fun that can be had with them? I remember seeing something on TV where someone got a similar email and ended up getting the original senders to take photos holding up stupid phrases under the pretence that they would then hand over account details...

Do you think it would be worth replying in an attempt to make fools of them?

Comments

• BunnieBunnie Posts: 6,099 Master Poster
    haha! I remember that, I cant remember what it was on though.

But no, I have no idea...sorry, not much use! :)
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Mr Orange wrote: »

Do you think it would be worth replying in an attempt to make fools of them?

I wouldn't. But if I were wanting to do something like that, I'd head along to www.419eaters.com for a mentor.
    I don't care how old and senile people get, if you fall for those scams then frankly you deserve to lose your money!
    I've had similar ones, saying I've got some long lost uncle with the same surname in africa whose left me millions, but I have to send a couple of thousand over first. I had at least 3 or 4 of them, each with a different long-lost uncle whose died apparantly :lol: