Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Strange phone call at work

BillieTheBotBillieTheBot Posts: 8,721 Bot
I just had a phone call at my workplace from 0845 3373183, a lady with a foreign accent asking if I would like to participate in a 5-minute phone survey. I said that I would ask my manager first. As the agent was (supposedly) calling from an IT firm, I would have imagined that the call would have been for my manager rather than me. As I couldn't find him, I just pressed ahead and took the survey. The agent asked me what programming languages I knew, so I said HTML, JS and BASIC, plus what field of IT I'm in. She then asked what my salary was, age, name, how many people live in my household, how long it takes me to get to work and if I’m a manager myself. She also asked for my home phone number. I gave it out, but I immediately went onto www.tpsonline.org.uk/tps (telephone preference service) and opted to block future telemarketing calls.

Before she went, I asked what company she was calling from – she said “ICM Research” and gave me 01234 760041 if I wanted to contact them back.

Any idea how much legitimacy this has, and whether I did anything wrong / gave out too much info?

Thanks!
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I suppose from theinformation you gave them it would be easy for them to trace where you live via the phone number, and depending on how much you earn, have a indication at the value of the things you own, and then from the number of people in your house + how long you travel to/fro work, when the house is most likely to be empty...