Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

Parental expectation and being the black sheep

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Does anybody else worry about what their Mam and Dad expect of them?

Not like doing your share of the dishes or that, but more to do with what you're like as a person and what you're doing with your life.

I've fucked up in the last couple of years with various stuff (they're quite religious and have beleifs about certain stuff), and I went more than a year without having any sort of relationship with my folks. Things are a lot better now, but sometimes I feel like they must think I'm a right waste of time.

Like when I was a kid the child psychologist and my Primary teachers said I was the brainiest kid they'd seen in a long time. Fifteen years later I'm the only one of my brothers and sister without a degree and decent prospects, and my Mam has said that I could be doing so much better with my life generally. My wee brother graduates in July, and I suffer by comparison.

I've always been a bit of a black sheep and done my own thing, but after everything that's happened I want to make them really proud of me, rather than just seeing me as wasted talent (I don't see the talent bit myself, but there we go). They aren't getting any younger and it's just hard sometimes, y'know? I don't want to make something of myself and for them to have been dead for 20 years so they can't see it.

Is anybody else a bit of a black sheep like that?

Comments

• Options
    All the time. I was really quite clever when i was younger (still i am i suppose :chin: ), top of the class, oh she'll be brilliant at secondary school, oh she'll go to a good uni and find a cure for cancer that sort of thing. Was always sensible, never got into trouble.