Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Cjild Care Trainee Question

I'm currently studying CACHE Foundation Award. (which is the equivalent of NVQ Level 1) When I started my work placement, I was given a bit of paper about my code of conduct and what's expected of me.

One of the rules is that I can't take children to the toilet and can't be left alone in any way with them. (I'm not even allowed alone in the same room as them)

There's a child there who can be difficult to deal with and most of the time, I'm the only one who can get him to do do stuff like washing his hands and face and putting him to bed. A few times I've been asked to take him (alone) to the toilet to wash his hands. In one way, I felt slightly uncomfortable doing this, as I've still not been CBR checked.

I was talking to a few of the members of staff today and they all said that what one of the members of staff asks me to do is illegal. I then mentioned that once or twice I've been with a baby whilst all the children slept - I got told this was fine because technically I'm not 'alone' with the child - there's a big area for the babies and it's separated by a safety gate where all the cots, bedding and coats are kept. I know for a fact that the manager has seen me like this and I got told today by a member of staff that's alright because there's a member of staff near me.