Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Discovering the Americas.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi folks - I'm a newbie on here, so you may have had this discussion before, in which case, I apologise.

Had a good, heated debate with friends the other week... what would the world look like today, if Chinese explorers had discovered the Americas instead of Western European ones?

Its only an accident of history that Europeans got there first, when you think about it - what do you good people think?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    the mind boggles... for one thing china would be the big super power, likely keeping rule over america in some sort of empire.

then they'd get american-chinese and complain they're spelling it wrong :lol:

no idea, the possibilities are endless.

do you think the chinese would have killed off the indiginous people?
    Jezzer wrote: »
    Its only an accident of history that Europeans got there first, when you think about it - what do you good people think?

Bollocks.

The Spanish/Portugeuse/Italians had a history of exploration towards the Western side of the hemisphere before the Chinese. And even if they did find America (which they already did)-Native American's have Sino blood-they'd probably still have to build the railroads because we're racist cunts.
    Jezzer wrote: »
    Hi folks - I'm a newbie on here, so you may have had this discussion before, in which case, I apologise.

Had a good, heated debate with friends the other week... what would the world look like today, if Chinese explorers had discovered the Americas instead of Western European ones?

Language, religion, ethnicity...

Maybe more American Indians would be alive too.
    Replicant wrote: »