Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

An acting career - where do I start?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Basically, I'm in my second year, earning a degree in drama. Drama is what I'm good at, it's what I love and at the end of the day it's what I want to make a career out of. I really love my course, but it's starting to dawn on me how much I really want to try and become something. What I mean is, next year is my last year at uni doing this degree, then I have to decide where to take it.

This year I have a job, it's only 12 hours a week but it slides into the free time I have when I'm not at a lecture or in lessons. Yeah I do have free time, where I catch up on work (read texts, essays etc) as well as lead a social life which isn't as alcohol and partying related as some would probably presume! I have been involved in a small directed piece already this year, and before xmas, I got called back for 2 of the 3 major productions for the 1st semester - but couldn't attend due to work commitments, so I feel like the opportunities in uni are hard to get hold of as I'm restricted.

It must be the crappy television shows my housemates watching 24/7, but I'm starting to look at myself and consider how I could go about improving everything - my looks, my figure, my teeth, everything. I know I shouldn't be so critical but deep down I have aspirations to have a full and fruitful acting career. I can sing too and I'm fairly good looking so I feel I have a few qualities to offer.

I've been looking online, and there are agencies, websites which host your information for a one off fee and then tell you about opportunities, offers of creating a porfolio etc...and I'm lost as to where to start.