Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

My job is making me ill

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
You may or may not know that I'm a teacher. I used to be a good one. My classes were well controlled and the pupils' results were excellent.

I started at a different school in September and have hated every minute of it. I receive some form of verbal abuse every single day - ranging from basic name calling to being told that I should die.

On Thursday I was prevented from getting out of a classroom to confront a pupil, who had followed me around throughout the day, by him holding the door handle.

I can't cope with my workload for various reasons - not given enough free time, no advance warning of what is expected of me.

I have asked for help and advice from my immediate line manager and more senior staff but none has been forthcoming.

I come home with splitting headaches every night and I get awful stomach cramps in the morning. I cry at the drop of a hat. Within minutes of being around pupils I just want to run away. I am irritable. I have no interest in sex or anything remotely active. I can't focus on marking and just sit around watching television repeats but that bores me!

I don't know what to do. I have my dream job lined up for September and I don't want to jeapoardise it by taking time off ill but I can't bear the thought of going back in.

Comments

• littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster