Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Tutor Group Problems, any advice appreciated.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Okay so I am a first year uni student, and I'm finding it extremely hard to contribute to my tutor groups. I just cannot bring myself to speak at all, and it's not because I don't do the work for them, I just feel totally self conscious and stupid compared to the other students in my group. There is one in particular I get VERY nervous about, and I shouldn't, because the tutor is a great person, and probably my favourite out of all my tutors. I just feel totally sick before it, and spend most of the time trying to hide and praying that I'm not noticed, which worked until last week, when he started asking individuals their thoughts and views, and started with me. I know this sounds so silly compared to the most of the difficulties posted on here, but as I say, any advice is appreciated.
Thanks in advance guys,
capo2
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Don't panic about feeling nervous because that only gets you into a vicious cycle of feeling nervous that you're going to feel nervous. Speaking up in front of a class is something a lot of people find nerve-wracking (unless they're outgoing), so don't feel that it's a silly problem to have.