Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Options

NUS Tuition Fees Protest

2»

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yes, it's NUS extra. I think it's the only thing that we can get at York, and I'm buggered if I'm paying a tenner for 5% off at Amazon, which is the only thing I'd use it for. I've got my York uni ID card which proves I'm a student so tbh I don't see the point in having an NUS extra card. Grr.

Why is it annoying you so much then Piccolo?
  • Options
    what really bugs me is the way they asses your parents income they presume that if you have no siblings under the age of 18 theres no one else being supported by your parents and they dont even consider savings. my dad works with someone who had a HUGE inheritance from somewhere and she and her husband decided to work only part time cos they could afford it so when their son went to uni he got so much financial help it was unbelieveable even thought theyr totally loaded, becuase they werent earning much.
    When i went to uni my sister was unemployed so my parents were paying for everything for her cos it takes ages to get on benefits and had to take out a loan to pay my tuition fees!
    also the bloody non income assesed loan bugs me cos i have a friend whos really quite well off and shes getting the non income loan and her parents are putting it in a savings account for her and paying her the money she needs for uni, which is great for her because it means she'll have money at the end of uni but if people didnt do this maybe thered be more money for middle income families who dont aparently need financial help!

(sorry ranting abit....)
  • Options
    i think people should have to pay fees (those who can't afford it get them paid anyway) but i don't agree with the top up fees malarky.

What do you agree with then?