Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Jobs under 16...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm 15, and have an acquaintance at school (he's far from a friend), who claims to have a job at Tescos (British and other countries equivilent of Walmart) and he's also 15. I was always led to believe you had to be 16 to get a job at Tescos or any other store.

Can you get a job at Tesco at 15 or is talking out of his ass?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I suspect he's talking out of his ass, but i'm no expert.
    I always heard that you can work at Sainsbury's from the age of 15 and a half? dunno if that's true or not.

if you want a job, get a paper round?
    Yeah, I heard Sainsbury's employ from 15, too. Also, I tried to get a paper round, but I live in the countryside, 6 miles from the nearest town - it was impractical.
    we know what tesco is....most of us are in fact british :p

it depends on the store...most are 16 though unfortunatly. You'll just have to wait. Until you're 16 they can pay you what they like to, which will probably be crap anyway.

Oh and wrong forum too btw
    Slave?
    he is talking out his arse cz i asked in there the other day as i am also 15 and desperate for a job and u do have to be 16
    Some places like Tesco will take under 18s/16s as things like shelf stackers or cleaners, but not necessarily for till work or things like that.
    My S.O works in a pub and most (if not all) of the waiting staff are between 15-17. Their wages are shit because they are too young for minimum wage. So yeah Tescos employing a kid doesn't suprise me much. I should imagine he's being expolited though.