Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Foreign languages

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Does anyone else not think that it absurd that a foreign language is usually optional at GCSE? Although, I don’t even think a compulsory foreign language at GCSE goes far enough. I took a GCSE in French and despite ‘passing’ my French is very poor and I only started learning the language at 12. Given that Belgian and Swiss kids speak a couple of languages by the age of 12 we really need to start much earlier. Learning a language is a lot easier when you’re really young, when kids start learning English they should be learning at least one other European language...

I’m partly just bitter as I’m trying to learn German from scratch but I think the priorities with regard to languages are a bit messed up. For all the useless intrusions the EU has made surely the EU Parliament could make a useful infringement and stipulate that every child in state education learn another European language.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    For once, I agree with you. The British and foreign languages are crap. It should be compulsory in school. Its one of my regrets that I never paid much attention in foreign languages at school.
    Yep it is a bit absurd, I think teaching language should come early in the education of kid, simply because the younger they are the more easy it is to learn and well knowing more than one language sure open the door to more opportunity... In France I had my first english lesson when I was round 7 years old and so did my brother and sister... and you must have at least one foreign language, it is not optional... I think for english countries, some of them think that the world should speak english so why would they bother speaking an other language...