Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

ISP's

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ok, so I'm looking into what ISP I should go for. I don't really want a 12 month contract as being a student I may not be around in 9 months time, although who knows where I'll get a grad job, so it doesn't really bother me too much and I'll just pay the price if I do leave/move it to my new address whichever is easier.

We want and 8mb connection (apparently...flat mate claims he downloads to much to have less), unlimited downloads and the cheapest price possible but with a reliable connection. I think we've narrowed it down to between Tiscali (£17.99) and Demon (£19.99). I heard bad things about them both though and was wondering if anyone had any advice which would be best/stories to put me off them.

Cheers.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    UKOnline. They're cheap, and fast, and their customer support is amazing (I rang them yesterday and an english person picked up straight away)

Also if you put my e-mail address on signup you get your first month free =)
    Oh, between tiscali and demon.. I dunno. I've only been on demon once, We could never get connected, so they cancelled the account for us, 10 months later we discovered they've pilfered 120 odd quid from our bank. never got that refunded, cunts :(
    we were with tiscali they were bog standard.
    i guess you want a rolling contract then?
  • littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
    We're with demon and have only really had good experiences with them. I don't think they are the cheapest providers around but we have had no real problems with them at all.
    Kazbo wrote: