Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

therapy

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I think i need it. My self esteem issues have just got too much now and its adversly affecting most aspects of my life, and preventing me from enjoying what could be a fucking great time for me. I feel completely shit about myself most of the time.

Do i just go to my doctor or what? Would i actually have to tell my doctor the problem, as it would be a problem for me speaking my mind as thats one of my major issues- talking about the way i feel.

Is there waiting lists for these things, would i have to pay?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I was wondering about this too, so I'm glad you brought it up.

I hope you feel better soon. Maybe it helps knowing there are other people in the same boat? :)
    Yes, it does :)
    Your GP is the person to talk to, discuss the issues with him/her and tell them what impact its having on your life.

Talking therapy is available on the NHS, and it shouldnt have a massive waiting list either, but it really is a post code lottery I'm afraid.
    budda wrote:
    Your GP is the person to talk to

Yip. Invariably you'll need a referal from your GP for any NHS type treatment, unless of course you want to go private.
    RubberSkin wrote:
    Yip. Invariably you'll need a referal from your GP
    Budda wrote:
    Your GP is the person to talk to, discuss the issues with him/her and tell them what impact its having on your life

:(

This is going to be a big problem for me. I have no problem talking about physical illness, but when it comes to discussing whats going on mentally... i know i'll just sit there and freeze, then need to get out of the situation as soon as possible.