Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

changing bank accounts

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Did a google and thesite.org came first :razz: so I thought I'd ask!

Going to change from baryclays additions to royal bank of scotland as they give you £2,750 interest free overdraft a year which might come in handy if I'm an impoverished student. But how do I handle all the direct debits and things like that?? So much of a headache :(

Comments

• littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster

Going to change from baryclays additions to royal bank of scotland as they give you £2,750 interest free overdraft a year which might come in handy if I'm an impoverished student. But how do I handle all the direct debits and things like that?? So much of a headache :(

:o

They never used to give you that. The maximum used to be £2000 and that was only by the end of first year (ie year 1 - £1000, year 2 - £1250 etc etc) Make sure you double check this.

Also, just go into the bank, ask to speak to an advisor and explain what you need to do and they will tell you. I think a lot of things are done automatically by the bank. But they will need to advise.
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    When I switched my bank from Halifax to HSBC they changed over all the direct debits for me, except for Halifax had to be pricks about my loan but thats another story all together.

Ask them wether they do an account transfer service, most of them do.

RBS limit is £2,500 - it's halifax/bank of scotland which is offering £2,750.

Luckily i'm with them already. :cool:
    Spliffie wrote:
    RBS limit is £2,500 - it's halifax/bank of scotland which is offering £2,750.

Luckily i'm with them already. :cool:

bank of scotland / royal bank of scotland :confused: