Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Tesco workers

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
If you currently work/ed @ Tesco's then this thread is for you:)

What department do you work on?
Hourly rate of pay?
Fringe benefits/staff discount?
Impression of the company?
Staffing structure?(manager, supervisor, general manager etc.)

Thanks for any info:)

Comments

• SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit
    Years ago I worked in Wine and Spirits, I can't remember the pay or benifits but I do remember it was one of the worst jobs I've ever had. McDonalds was better than that.
    Weekender Offender 
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I work for one of the competitiors.
    When I was a student I worked for Tesco in a variety of departments. I stacked shelves in the Pharmacy aisle, flew a till and also did the refunds for customers on the Home Shopping dotcom department.

It was all shite. Home Shopping was probably the worst because I started work at 5 every morning.

It was all shite lol. I can agree with that. I work for Tesco now, I've been there a year and Ive done non-food, checkouts, grocery, wines and spirits, chillers, tesco express. The lot. I would say non food was probably the best place I worked. Im on £6 an hr now I have my yrs service. I couldnt rlly care less tho becoz im just doin it as a student- part time. ANd I hate customers:grump:
    Worked on produce and then dairy.
    Think I got about £5.50/hour which was ok.

Benefits were minimal but for the summer it was good money.

Mind numbingly boring and the customers look down their fucking noses at you until they realise you can actually pronouce paella and mozzarelly di buffala and tell them that squeezing a mango to check for freshness is just moronic.