Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

Working overtime

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Right, so I've been working at my local co-op for about 4 months, on a part time contract of 13 hours a week. However I don't think I've worked these hours once, i've mostly worked between 25 and 37 hours. And to add to it, I haven't called in sick once and never been more than 5 minutes late.
At first I'd get asked specifically a couple of days in advance if I could do this day or that. (certainly my favourite way, actually felt i was able to say no) Then they'd make the rota and show me it and ask if all the hours were alright with me. And give me a copy.
Then this week i haven't even had the rota mentioned to me but I looked at it myself and saw that I'm in on the evening of my bday and the morning after :shocking:

Basically I need to know what I can do or say. Those hours are not in my contract (although the morning im in im actually contracted for the evening) (and I can't work the evening instead, got more bday plans and the girl who's on that shift can't work mornings so I couldnt swap anyway) The other 2 days im working this week make up my contracted hours alone.
I feel totally taken for granted, surely I should be asked about overtime? Or have i got it all wrong? It's only a part time job untill i go to uni in October so I'm not THAT bothered about pissing them off a bit, but I'd prefer not too as I'd like to get some hours there in the holidays if it's possible.

Just does anyone have any advice? I assume I only HAVE to work 13 hours. Does anyone know the conditions involving overtime? Or have any suggestions of what to say to my manager? It's very short notice that I can't work, but I didn't get any notice that they want me to work!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru