Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.

The pictures you don't see

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yeah, I know that. People with money become officers and do safer jobs.
    Blagsta wrote:

You don't know much about the role of officers then. There's no way as an officer I was going to sit back and let my men go into danger when I didn't go with them. Nor would my colleagues.

Look at the casulties in Iraq you'll see a fair smattering of officers there.

Fuck look, at Goose Green in the Falklands 17 dead overall including one Lt-Col, 2 captains and 1 lieutenant.

In WW1 the poisition with the highest proportion of casualties was platoon, with company commanders not far behind.
    Note I said "safer" not "safe".
    Blagsta wrote:
    Note I said "safer" not "safe".

But that's not true either - at least in the British Army, which has always put great store by officers leading their men.

It may be true by the time you get to rank of general than you're less likely to be shot than a corporal, but then most RSMs aren't leading bayonet charges either.
    Blagsta wrote:
    I agree with NQA, the only thing that made me safer was being a woman and not being allowed to serve "front-line" not that it exists anymore.
    even humanitarian/ peacekeeping whatever still are trained to kill. To be a cook in the army you still have to complete your basic training.
    If you go in to the army without realising that you will be trained to kill and be indoctrinated with a certain mentality (that you probably have to have a bit to even want to join) then youre much mistaken.
    My 17 year old step brother wants to join for the same reason as you Fiend. free university and he`d probably be put up as officer material pretty quickly tbh, but I still hate the idea.